Around the World With a Vagabond

The Other Side of the Stars March 1, 2011

Filed under: The Other Side of the Stars,What Happened in Australia — christynichols @ 12:35 pm
Tags: ,

 

One of my earliest little-kid memories is looking out the window from my strawberry shortcake bed to a night sky full of stars. This was when I lived in Nashville, and a bright and glittery sky was not uncommon.  I knew nothing of the stars then, except for maybe that “Twinkle Twinkle Little” song . .  . .what were the words?

 

On California nights, I could see Orion beaming through clusters of blinking stars that crowded out the Heavens.  The best was during camping trips, when the desert sky was so alight that it took some time to find Orion hidden amongst them.

 

When I moved to London, half a world away, I could still find Orion. Whenever I was homesick, I would think about how my family back in California, camping without me, could also see that same constellation, even if their nighttime was different from mine.

Maybe it’s silly; the same could be said of the moon as of the stars, but still. Orion made me feel better.

 

Moving to Australia, I realized the sky would be a differently lit sky. Down here, the celestial view glimmers with a new cast of stars.  One dark Melbourne night I watched as the hunter and his belt crept over the horizon. It’s a good feeling to have a familiar in a foreign place, but I was surprised and didn’t quite understand how this could be.  I thought I had moved too far away this time.

 

Then a friend, who is far more knowledgeable about the astronomical lighting than I, pointed out that, yes, Orion is visible in the Southern Hemisphere, only it’s inverted and appears tipped on its side.

All those nights of stargazing, and I hadn’t noticed this difference.

 

I had never before thought about looking at the stars from the other side of them. This is pretty darn cool, and it makes me feel a little better on those days when I miss my people. They’re out there .  . . . . just on the other side of the stars.

 

 

4 Responses to “The Other Side of the Stars”

  1. Cheryl Says:

    made me cry….miss you!

  2. David P Says:

    Nice Post!

    (of course, I would say that ;))

  3. Australias night skys are amazing once you venture away from the big cities. I often go adventuring out west into Australias heart and the number of stars you can see out there never ceases to amaze me.

  4. peter Says:

    These pictures remind me of my boyhood days in the then Malaya.
    I was a scout and on several school holidays my friends and I went camping in Morib which had a lovely beach. We cycled from our home town called Klang which was some 20 miles away.
    I remember vividly that we looked at the stars at night after dinner.
    Ah the happy and care-free days.


Leave a Reply

